Powered by Google

Search form

Local, state, and territorial associations of REALTORS®, as a condition of membership in the National Association of REALTORS®, must meet NAR’s Organizational Alignment Core Standards, a set of requirements that fall into six categories:

  1. Code of Ethics 
  2. Advocacy
  3. Consumer Outreach      
  4. Unification Efforts and Support of the REALTOR® Organization 
  5. Technology
  6. Financial Solvency

REALTOR® associations must certify compliance with the standards by June 30, 2015—and by June 30 of each subsequent year—or be subject to revocation of their charter.

The standards were approved by NAR’s Board of Directors in May 2014 and replace a previous set of organizational standards. The purpose of the new standards: to raise the bar for REALTOR® associations and ensure high-quality service for REALTORS®.

Among the new standards is the need for an up-to-date strategic plan. To help associations meet that standard, NAR has trained facilitators and is providing grants for associations to complete the strategic planning process. Strategic planning grants are available through June 30, 2015, and money will be disbursed only after a plan has been submitted to and approved by NAR. Facilitators can be located through the Core Standards Facilitators Resource Database.

Grants will also be available to facilitate association mergers that take place between May 17, 2014, and June 30, 2016, with disbursement after completion of a successful merger.

Enforcement of the Organizational Alignment Core Standards will be the joint responsibility of the local associations, state and territorial associations, and National Association. The online reporting tool is available here.

Read "Standards & Beyond" from the Summer 2014 issue of REALTOR® AE Magazine

Review the Organizational Alignment Frequently Asked Questions, compiled by NAR. These FAQs are regularly updated.