Powered by Google

Search form












Fair Housing Act

NAR opposes discrimination in housing based on race, color, religion, sex, handicap, familial status sexual orientation, gender identity, and national origin. This policy is embodied in NAR's Code of Ethics. NAR also authorizes sanctions in response to a finding that a member has violated any fair housing law, including local and state laws that prohibit discrimination based on sexual orientation or gender identity. NAR policy is to support equal opportunity on the basis of sexual orientation and gender identity and the NAR Code of Ethics was amended in 2010 and 2013, to include this updated policy in the Code of Ethics.

March 20, 2013
Taking the view that even a single allegation of discrimination is one too many, the Lehigh Valley Association of REALTORS® in Pennsylvania worked with community groups to institute a hard-hitting campaign to educate its members about Fair Housing.
March 15, 2013
A study finds that home loan and refinance applications are less likely to be approved if the borrower is a woman.
March 7, 2013
The U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development is teaming up with real estate professionals to promote a new free mobile app to allow users to instantly file housing discrimination complaints. 
March 1, 2013
Post and share the 2013 Fair Housing FOCUS Poster to celebrate Fair Housing Month.
February 22, 2013
HUD is investigating dozens of complaints that mortgage lenders are denying or delaying loans to women who are pregnant or on maternity leave.
April 2, 2012

As the leading advocate for homeownership and housing issues, the National Association of REALTORS® will join the nation in honoring Fair Housing Month this April.
April 1, 2011
As the leading advocate for home ownership, NAR strongly supports the Fair Housing Act and believes that anyone who is able and willing to assume the responsibilities of owning a home should have the opportunity to pursue that dream. This April marks the 43rd anniversary of the 1968 landmark Fair Housing Act, which prohibits discrimination based on race, color, national origin, religion, sex, familial status or disability.